Aboriginal Education


COU Reference Group on Aboriginal Education 2022-23

The Reference Group on Aboriginal Education is comprised of educators, counsellors, and administrators from universities and works to build and support a continuum of education and development that enables Aboriginal students to access learning and to thrive on their learning journey.

Key Contact

Éilis Karry

Policy Analyst

ext. 263 | [email protected]

Mary WabanoVice-President, Nyaagaaniid – Student Success and Anishinaabe InitiativesAlgoma University
Robyn BourgeoisActing Vice-Provost, Indigenous EngagementBrock University
Benny MichaudDirector, Centre for Indigenous InitiativesCarleton University
Cara Wehkamp (Co-Chair)Assistant Vice-President (Indigenous Initiatives)University of Guelph
Natasha YoungManager, Indigenous Student CentreUniversity of Guelph
Denise BaxterVice-Provost, Aboriginal InitiativesLakehead University
Mary Laur (Incoming Chair)Director, Indigenous Sharing and Learning CenterLaurentian University
Dominic BeaudryAssociate Vice President, Academic and Indigenous ProgramsLaurentian University
Robert InnesDirector of Indigenous Studies ProgramMcMaster University
Romeo FournierInterim Director, Office of Indigenous InitiativeNipissing University
Melissa GeneralManager, Indigenous Visual Culture Student Centre & ServicesOCAD University
Amy KelaidisExecutive Director, Indigenous EngagementOCAD University
Tareyn Johnson (Co-Chair)Director of Indigenous AffairsUniversity of Ottawa
Janice HillAssociate Vice-Principal (Indigenous Initiatives and Reconciliation)Queen's University
Kandice BaptisteSenior Director, Student Inclusion, Equity, and BelongingQueen's University
Aaron St PierreDirector, Four Directions Aboriginal Student CentreQueen's University
Dawn Lavell-HarvardDirector, First Peoples House of LearningTrent University
David NewhouseChair, Indigenous StudiesTrent University
Shannon SimpsonDirector, Indigenous InitiativesUniversity of Toronto
Michael WhiteDirector, Indigenous Student ServicesUniversity of Toronto
Shannon SimpsonSenior Director, Indigenous InitiativesUniversity of Toronto
Monica McKayDirector, Aboriginal InitiativesToronto Metropolitan University
Jean BeckerSenior Director, Indigenous Initiatives (Office of Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion)University of Waterloo
Savanah SeatonShatitsirótha’ Waterloo Indigenous Student CentreUniversity of Waterloo
Melissa IrelandDirector, Indigenous RelationsUniversity of Waterloo
Christy BressetteVice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Initiatives)Western University
Emily DanielManager, Indigenous Student SupportWilfrid Laurier University
Darren ThomasAssociate Vice-President, Indigenous InitiativesWilfrid Laurier University
Kat PasquachAboriginal Outreach and Retention CoordinatorUniversity of Windsor
Randy PitawanakwatManager, Indigenous Student ServicesYork University
Susan DionAssociate Vice President, Indigenous InitiativesYork University