Members of Council 2021-22

The Council is made up of two representatives from each member and associate member institution: the executive head (president or principal) and an academic colleague appointed by each institution’s senior academic governing body.

Institution Executive head Academic colleague
Algoma University Asima VezinaPresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Paulette SteevesCanada Research Chair in Healing and Reconciliation
Brock University Dr. Gervan FearonPresident and Vice-Chancellor Jingyu (Jennifer) LiProfessor, Goodman School of Business
Carleton University Dr. Benoit-Antoine BaconPresident and Vice-Chancellor Kim HellemansInstructor III, Department Chair, Department of Neuroscience
University of Guelph Dr. Charlotte YatesInterim President and Vice-Chancellor

Dr. Catherine CarstairsProfessor, History Department
Lakehead University Dr. Moira McPhersonPresident & Vice-Chancellor Dr. Douglas IvisonAssociate Professor, English
Laurentian University Dr. Robert HachéPresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Abdelwahab OmriProfessor, Chemistry and Biochemistry Department
McMaster University Dr. David FarrarInterim President and Vice-Chancellor

Dr. Maureen MacDonaldDean of Science; Office of the Dean of Science, Faculty of Science
Nipissing University Cheryl SuttonInterim President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Darren CampbellAssociate Professor, Department of Psychology
OCAD University Dr. Ana SerranoPresident and Vice-Chancellor

Simon GlassAssociate Professor, Faculty of Art
Ontario Tech University Dr. Steven MurphyPresident and Vice-Chancellor Alyson KingAssociate Professor, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities
University of Ottawa Mr. Jacques FrémontPresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Sylvie FrigonProfessor and Chair of the Graduate Committee; Faculty of Social Sciences, Department of Criminology
Queen's University Dr. Patrick DeanePrincipal and Vice-Chancellor Duncan HunterAssociate Professor and Interim Department Head, Department of Public Health Services, School of Medicine
Ryerson University Dr. Mohamed LachemiPresident and Vice-Chancellor

Chair of Council

Dr. Andrew McWilliamsAssociate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biology
University of Toronto Dr. Meric GertlerPresident Catherine AmaraAssociate Professor, Teaching Stream & Director of Undergraduate Studies, Muscle Health
Trent University Dr. Leo GroarkePresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Karleen Pendleton JiménezAssistant Professor, School of Education and Professional Learning
University of Waterloo Dr. Feridun HamdullahpurPresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Johanna WandelAssociate Professor & Associate Chair; Department of Geography and Environmental Management
Western University Dr. Alan ShepardPresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Erika ChamberlainProfessor and Dean of Law
Wilfrid Laurier University Dr. Deborah MacLatchyPresident and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Bruce Elliott McKayAssociate Professor, Department of Psychology
Associate Dean: Student Services, Faculty of Science

University of Windsor Dr. Robert Gordon President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Phil DuttonAssociate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Associate Dean of Science, Undergraduate Affairs
York University Dr. Rhonda LentonPresident and Vice-Chancellor

Vice-Chair of Council
Professor Brenda Spotton VisanoProfessor, Department of Economics and School of Public Policy and Administration
Council of Ontario Universities Mr. Steve OrsiniPresident and CEO
Associate Member
Institution Executive head Academic colleague
Royal Military College of Canada Dr. Harry KowalPrincipal Dr. Allister MacIntyreProfessor, Military Psychology and Leadership